Incognito - Tribes, Vibes And Scribes (Lossless) +Mp3

Incognito - Tribes, Vibes And Scribes
Release: 1993 | Label: Verve | Catalog number: 514198
Jazz, Acid Jazz, Soul, Funk | LOSSLESS (Wv.Img+Log+Cue+Scans) | 337Mb | Total Time: 51:13 | RS
MP3 @ 224 kbps | 44100Hz | Joint Stereo | 82.1 MB

Incognito's third album nods to the influences that ground their jazz-funk-and-soul jams. The 11-member band adds a Latin feel to a snazzy cover of Stevie Wonder's "Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing," while "Magnetic Ocean" has a Weather Report-in-ballad-mode vibe. "Change" combines Maysa Leak's Chaka Khan-like power with sweeping Soul II Soul-ish strings, and "Need to Know" gives props to Roy Ayers (check the clavinet) and Rick James (horn section).

The band is at its best showcasing Leak or featuring soloists, as on "Colibri" and the Mandrill-ish "Closer to the Feeling." Still, some attempts fall flat, like the syrupy "L'Arc en Ciel de Miles" that's more Chuck Mangione than Prince of Darkness. This one's for smooth-jazz aficionados; Brit-funk fans should check the band's later fare.

Kevin Robinson - trumpet, flugelhorn
Maysa - vocals
Randy Hope-Taylor - bass
Richard Bull - guitar, drums, percussion, programming
Andy Gangadeen - drums
Fayyaz Virji - trombone
Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick - guitar, keyboards, background vocals
Graham Harvey
Thomas Dyani - percussion
Peter Hinds - keyboards
Patrick "BeBop" Clahar - saxophones, wind synthesizer

Ellen Blair, Stephen Hussey, Ivan Hussey, Bernita Turner, Rowland Sutherland, Sara Loewenthal, Yolisa Phale

1. Colibri
2. Change
3. River in My Dreams
4. Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing
5. Magnetic Ocean
6. I Love What You Do For Me
7. Closer to the Feeling
8. L'Arc en Ciel de Miles
9. Need to Know
10. Pyramids
11. Tribal Vibes

Download LOSSLESS (Wv.Img+Log+Cue)
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

300 dpi Scans

Mp3 @ 224 kbps

No comments: